Brookgreen Gardens – Pictoblog

Brookgreen Gardens is the botanical gardens in Pawleys Island.  They were having an art show today, so we decided to check it out.  We saw some great art in the forms of paintings, jewelry, clocks, and pottery (to be respectful to the artists, no photographs were made).  But then we took a stroll around the garden…

We came across a couple sculptures that reminded me of two special artists I know, as well as the art they produce (some of you may be able to guess who, but I’ll tell you which is which).

This senorita reminded me of Vickie Bowman and the music she produces makes me want to dance like this sculpture.  (You can read her blog here)

If you can’t guess who this one is after learning the first… it probably just means you don’t know them personally.  This is Ann Bowman (Vickie’s twin sister).  I can picture her dancing like this, but I can also picture this dancing girl being depicted in her art (and if she doesn’t have a dancing girl and would like to paint this one, Ann, you’re welcome to it).  You can see some of her paintings here.

Marie:  Shooooweeee! There’s a snake in that hole!

Kenneth:  Where’s a snake?…Yep, there’s a snake.  You see that snake?

Ken:  Yep, I see that snake!

Cyn: The sign said there might be snakes…and to stay on the path.  That’s what happens when you get off the path.

Three-legged turtle

One comment on “Brookgreen Gardens – Pictoblog

  1. […] Brookgreen Gardens – Pictoblog (via Cyndicated) Brookgreen Gardens is the botanical gardens in Pawleys Island.  They were having an art show today, so we decided to check it out.  We saw some great art in the forms of paintings, jewelry, clocks, and pottery (to be respectful to the artists, no photographs were made).  But then we took a stroll around the garden… We came across a couple sculptures that reminded me of two special artists I know, as well as the art they produce (some of you may … Read More […]

Comments are closed.