Thoughts in my head

With all the stuff going on in life right now, I’ve had several thoughts revolving in my head.  It’s to the point now that they are becoming “clutter” and I’m hoping that by writing them out I can continue to meditate on them as needed but without being bombarded by all at one time.

– Is there something about the female brain that leads to an immediate response of guilt when she finally declares “I’m taking a day off”? Not scheduled to work and not making plans to “work” at home – just do what she wants to do – read, write, play, whatever – just to relax.  It’s a serious dilemma!

– Shouldn’t it be a requirement that you be a successful delegatee before you are a successful delegator? (Meaning people delegate responsibility to you and you complete those responsibilities willingly AND timely to prove you can be delegated to before you are allowed to delegate responsibilities to other people.)

– I am very capable of doing a lot of things for myself by myself, but I am not called to do it by myself, but what is my level of responsibility in finding and reminding those who are called to help me?

– I am also not called to be everybody’s answer – that is a very freeing realization

– Several weeks ago, I had my husband look at me and say “I’m sorry that being married to me has destined you to a life with no friends.”  It bugged me then and it still bugs me now.  It’s not his fault, not once has the thought ever crossed my mind to blame him.  I don’t blame any human for it, and I certainly don’t blame God.  God is in control but He’s not the author of strife.  So, no blaming, no finger-pointing, and no name-calling, but there’s something about his statement that bugs me and feels somewhat true.  Maybe it goes back to something I said earlier – if photographs only held the images of people who were actively in your life, I’d have some empty frames.

– The 3 things I’m choosing to work on right now: eating healthy, eating at home, and not practicing anger on inanimate objects – because faith says to call those things that be not as though they were.  Somehow I don’t think that works on cookies & cream ice cream,  Then, I read an article that said people who try to exert self-control (the example they used was dieting) tend to have and perceive more angry reactions (appropriateness was irrelevant).  Just a little deflating.

– What is it about follow-through that is so unattractive?  Like what takes more energy – putting the napkin beside the trashcan or in the trashcan? I would think a task being marked “complete” would be very attractive.  I’m not sure if this is a human thing or an American thing.  Somehow we’ve been taught “someone will come along behind me and finish it.”  Well, the rule has been at my house, if you leave your trash out, it will sit there (and sometimes begin to smell) until you throw it away.

Funny how after a brain-dump, the strangest things pop into my head… that’s another blog for another day!

the 3 things I’m choosing to work on: eating healthy, eating at home, and not practicing anger on inanimate objects – because faith says to call those things that be not as though they were.  Somehow I don’t think that works on cookies & cream ice cream
