The story of an apron

When I was in the 10th grade, I took a Family and Consumer Science (FACS) class.  It was the politically correct version of Home Ec.

Our big project for the end of the semester was to make an apron.  My expert seamstress grandmother took me to Walmart to buy a pattern and I swore her to secrecy until this project was done.  She also helped me pick out the pale yellow fabric.

In class, our teacher, Mrs. Bennett, walked us through cutting out our pattern, tracing hem lines, and using and caring for our sewing machine.

I was so excited when I finished it.  For one, I made an A.  And two, I was planning on giving it to my mom for Christmas and I knew she was going to love it (and cry).

Christmas morning comes around, and mom opens my present.  She loved it – even though pale yellow didn’t even closely match the colors of her kitchen and the fact that I sewed my hems inside out so the pink chalk we used to trace with was on the outside!

She still has that apron and still wears it (and when I’m at her house and I help her cook, I get to wear it too).

Now I have my own kitchen but no apron to my name.  I have a few blogs in my Google reader that post all kinds of fun things to do at home – from decorating ideas to recipes to arts & crafts.  I came across a few apron ideas and I just had to try them.

Unfortunately, my expert seamstress grandmother is 5 hours away, and no “home ec” class to be taken.  So, I called my MIL (who has her own share of sewing expertise).  She loved the idea, so this is part of my “domestication” process.

Our first project: a blue jean apron (see the website I got the idea from at Blue Jean Apron)

My first lesson was actually in mechanics (we had to clean the machine first).  Then she walked me through all the steps (and I even had homework).  And yes, she even left me unattended with the sewing machine.  I had no idea I’d have any kind of muscle memory for using a sewing machine from making 1 apron over 10 years ago! (Though I’m still running on Turtle speed)

We finished it up tonight and I just had to try it on.

Now all I have to do is iron it and find a reason to wear it!

One comment on “The story of an apron

Comments are closed.