Need to get back on the wagon

If you haven’t noticed, I haven’t blogged in a while.  And the reason I haven’t blogged in a while is because I haven’t P90X’d in a while.  In one of my last blogs, I let you know that I hurt my foot in some way – strained something in the back of my left heel.  Since then, I’ve made several efforts to start back, but for some reason, this wasn’t something I could push through or stretch out.  But sitting out, waiting on it to heal itself and testing it little by little, makes it much harder to jump back on the wagon right where I got off.  The good news is that even though the workouts halted, I was able to stick with the eating plan (for the most part).  At least, I haven’t gained back what I had lost in the first phase.  And this is true to Ken too – he’s just been off the wagon longer than I have.

So, here’s our current status – since January 4, Ken’s down 35 lbs, and I’ve lost 18 lbs.

The other big distraction is that fact that we’ve bought and are remodeling a house.  That’s very exciting and time consuming.

This is where we’re looking to you for some help.  What can we do to re-motivate ourselves to get back on 100%?  It’s obvious we had what I call a “Christmas morning” reaction when we first got P90X (you know, where on Christmas morning, you want to spend ALL your time playing with your new presents).  But that has worn off, and I’m not sure how to get back at it.

So, any suggestions anyone has to get us motivated and back on the P90X wagon – I’m listening.

One comment on “Need to get back on the wagon

  1. disciplineroad says:

    Thanks for sharing about how frustrated you are not being able to work out at your usual intensity level. It is frustrating when you have an injury and can’t do what you used to do….been there and done that…knees/shoulders/back. And hats off to you for sticking to your improved eating habits…that’s a huge part of it! Stay encouraged. I guess my recommendation would be don’t rush it, don’t pressure yourself to get back on it 100% and don’t be too hard on yourslef. You mentioned remodeling your new house. Congratulations on that. That IS exciting and obviously you’re time is precious to you and now even more limited. If you like training with Tony Horton, you might check out his program called 10 Minute Trainer. It’s done in 10 min/day and combines fat-burning cardio, total-body sculpting, and ab moves all at the same time for maximum efficiency. There is a clip of it on my page under “No Gym Required” if you want to review it and there is a whole set of other workouts categorized by desired results (http://disciplineroad.wordpress.com/fitness-programs/).

    Again, stay encouraged and don’t pressure yourself too much to get back to where you were…just do a little bit and as your foot heals, etc., you’ll hopefully be able to do more each day.

    Look forward to hearing how you and your husband are doing. Hang in there!

Comments are closed.