Kinda Bummed

This week has been going pretty good so far but some things have me a little bummed out.

1.  I wore some cute (but unsupportive) shoes last weekend and I think it put a strain on my left heel.  If I flex my foot the right way, it will cause this horrible burning sensation on the outside of my heel.  And standing all day in a pharmacy doesn’t help the matter much either.  And I’m bummed, not just because it hurts sometimes, but because the thing that hurts it the worst is downward dog – and Thursday is my Yoga X day, so I’m bummed because I might not get to do yoga!

2.  Wednesday night, I did Chest, Shoulders, & Triceps.  On a good note, my push-ups are improving, though I’m still doing push-ups on my knees.  Two things about this worked bummed me out: first was the Side-tri-rise (where you lay on your side and push yourself up with the opposite hand).  I can’t figure out what muscles this exercise is supposed to work.  It has “tri” in the name so I thought it’d be triceps, but the only work I feel is in my chest muscles.   I try to position myself exactly like the people on the video but, I’m still confused.  Maybe, my muscles aren’t strong enough yet and that’s the only muscle that can do the work at the moment.  Secondly, the Slow Motion Throws (with weights, you raise your arms straight out in front of you, palms down, bend your elbows to bring the weights to your shoulders, now with palms up, and then reverse).  I’m admitting my arm weakness by saying that I’m only using 2.5 lbs.  And the part that’s got me bummed is the fact that my bicep tendons and my forearm muscles feel like they’re wiggling around and it causes that “icky” sensation.  I can turn my palms inward and that seems to go away, but I’m not sure if it’s working out the muscles in the same way, or if it’s the right muscles at all.

3. With all the sweating I do during these workouts, I obviously bathe before I go to work, which is in a pharmacy where we do our best to stay germ free with hand sanitizer.  And because of the cold weather, I like my showers pretty warm.  Sweat + hot shower + cold weather + hand sanitizer = super dry skin.

So, I draw two conclusions from this: 1) I need to find a friend who knows a thing or two about sports medicine, and 2) I need some serious moisturizing lotion!

