Crash & Burn on P90X

So, it officially happened…. we both “bonked”.  Two days in a row and it all comes down to calories.

There are only so many hours in a day to eat the right number of calories and still eat your last serving at least 3 hours before you go to bed. And being a pharmacist, I don’t get scheduled breaks where I can take my time and make wise decisions about food.  Mondays I get off at 9, Tuesdays I get off at 7, Wednesdays is practice at church (get off at 5, get home from practice at 9), Thursday is church (get off at 5, get home at 9:30), Fridays I get off at 9 (but don’t make it home til 10 b/c I have a hour commute).  So, my question is, when am I supposed to eat???

The past 3 days I’ve been eating every 2 hours because I’m hungry and I’m still trying to follow my serving allotments.  But it seems to be common sense to not try to workout when my stomach is growling.

The other thing with a busy schedule is that I have limited time to sleep.  If I don’t get home until 10 and I have to work out, then I don’t get to bed til 12.  Then if I have to get up the next morning and workout, I have to get up at 5.  I learned way back in college (I say “way back” I lived in the dorms in 2001-2003) that my body and mind does not function properly with less than 7 hours of sleep, and I do best with 9 hours of sleep.  It’s hard to workout when your eyes are closed.

So, we’ve crashed and burned and now it’s time to rebuild.  I’m making plans on to write an eating plan to schedule the exact times that we should eat and what we should eat.  Then I’m going to be setting a bedtime and a wake up time for myself that will be the same every day (except weekends for now).  In the meantime, we’re going to work out legs & back tomorrow, do Kenpo on Saturday, and move the yoga that was supposed to be today to Sunday, instead of stretching.  Then Monday, we can start anew.  This also means that I’ll be extending my Phase 1 for an extra week to make up for this week (the book said we could do that).

Now, we’re moving on….

One comment on “Crash & Burn on P90X

  1. It is definitely tough following the eating plan especially when you’re at work when things get really busy. I’m starting my P90X workout journey (check it out at my blog, TREK2BEFIT.COM) on Sunday! I’m really exited to get stared!!!

    Are you a Beachbody Coach? I don’t see anywhere on your site saying you are. Go to- http://trek2befit.com/become-a-beachbody-coach for more info. Feel free to contact me about it.

Comments are closed.