P90X – 5 down, 85 to go

Dear Glutes,

I would like to say thank you for all the hard work you’ve done for me, day in and day out, through my whole life.  I’m sorry you are unhappy with me now but I believe this is for the best to make our lives together much happier and healthier in the future.  Keep up the good work, I know you won’t let me down (literally)!

Your companion,                                                                                                                                                            The rest of Cyn’s body

Yesterday was legs and back and abs.  Thank God for Aleve.  I could not find a position to be in yesterday that my glutes did not hurt – standing in the kitchen making lunch, walking up stairs, sitting in the car driving to work, walking down the aisles of the pharmacy, lying in bed flat on my back, and you can forget curling up into fetal position.  I had no idea they did so much work for me!

I’ve also decided that the folks at work are trying to kill me!  Every Friday they have people assigned to bring food for the whole store.  Yesterday’s menu (which was perfect for the icy cold weather we had): Beef veggie soup, ham sandwiches, pimento cheese sandwiches, potato salad, and raspberry cheese danish squares!!  I was very good and had a bowl of soup and a ham sandwich.  I think what I’m going to do from now on is make a copy of the “Daily Serving” chart and then the “Portions” food list and get them laminated.  That way I can check off the serving boxes (with a dry erase marker) of what I eat  throughout the day, so whether I’m at home or work or wherever, I can see what I’m still allowed to eat.  Then I can erase it and use it the next day.

I think I’ve discovered my obstacle in this nutrition plan thing…..

As a pharmacist, I’m very familiar with “carb counting”, which is what we teach patient with diabetes to do.  Therefore, I’m used to working with 3 food groups: Protein, Carbs, Fat, instead of 5: Fruit, Veggies, Meat, Bread, Fat.  The nutrition plan from P90X is more revolved around the 5 food groups, plus it allots for snacks and “condiments”.  I think if I start tracking my servings I’ll stay on track and eat the right things while still getting the right amount of calories (so I don’t “bonk”).

Today is day 6 and Kenpo is on the schedule… after that, we’re taking down the Christmas tree (pray for us!)

