Soy-Maple Glazed Salmon

Thought I’d take a break from the seriousness and share an awesome new recipe I found (and fixed just 2 hrs ago).

Soy-Maple Glazed Salmon

Ingredients
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 teaspoon adobo sauce from canned chipotles in adobo
4 6-ounce skinless salmon fillets

Market tip: Adobo is the spicy tomato sauce that comes in a can with chipotle chiles. Canned chipotles, usually labled “chipotles in adobo,” are available at many supermarkets, some specialty foods stores, and Latin American markets.

Preparation
Whisk syrup, soy sauce, and adobo in pie dish to blend. Add salmon; turn to coat. Let marinate 30 minutes, turning occasionally. Drain marinade into small saucepan.

Heat heavy nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add salmon and cook until slightly charred outside and just opaque in center, about 3 minutes per side.

Meanwhile, boil marinade until reduced to scant 1/4 cup sauce, about 4 minutes. Place 1 salmon fillet on each of 4 plates, drizzle with sauce, and serve.

Tips:

  • I did not use the adobo sauce, partly because Ken’s kinda picky about flavors (especially tomatoes), but mostly because I didn’t have it.
  • After marinating the fish fillets, I coated them in sesame seeds before cooking
  • I served the salmon over a bed of rice (make sure to start the rice at the same time as the marinate or it won’t be done at the same time)
  • Can also serve with edamame (I didn’t have that either)

Ken really enjoyed it, so even if I had to run out in the rain to fetch the rice cooker and it caused the fish to be done way before the rice, it was definitely a success.

Try it out, make your own variations, and let me know how you like it!

