Feelin’ like a hero!

I’ve had a great first week working as a fully licensed pharmacist all by myself.

During this week, I’ve translated Medicare and other insurance jibberish into English for patients to understand, helped parents with sick children comfort them and get them well, given flu shots to a great variety of citizens in this area, helped a lady with a bee sting, and saved a baby!

Yeah, you heard me right.  Had a young lady bring in some prescriptions and when she got to the counter, she was visibly emotional and didn’t say much.  She left and our technician continued entering in the prescriptions.  As we started filling, I noticed Percocet (nothing strange – it’s for pain), then Valium (still normal – it’s for nerves), then Cytotec (What?! direction say “take all 4 tablets 4 hours before procedure”. Ladies and gentlemen, that is not a GI ulcer prevention dose!) The technician informed me that she wasn’t in the store any longer so as I was verifying and doing Drug Use Reviews, I flagged it since it is Pregnancy Category X (means it will hurt and/or kill unborn babies).

After that, we turned into a zoo – people wanting flu shots, people at the drive-thru, 17 new prescriptions and 35 minutes later, we finally got to the labels to fill the medications for this young lady.  Pain med counted – check, nerve med counted – check, then as I pulled the third medication off the shelf and set it on the counter, I just looked at it – with it’s bright red cap warning women of childbearing age to handle with care and the picture of the pregnant stick-person with the international sign for “no” on it.  I stood there for what seemed a really long time, and the thing that brought me out of my trance was the man that was with her when she brought the prescriptions.  He said, “she’s in the car and she wanted me to come tell you she doesn’t want them now, but you can just keep the prescriptions too.”

I can’t imagine what kind of arguments get thrown around at a doctor’s office (by doctors and male partners) that then allow a woman to leave with prescriptions for these meds and thinking she’s made the right decision.  And I certainly can’t imagine the agony of confronting one’s self during those 35 minutes of waiting for those prescriptions to be filled.

All I know is, pregnant ladies are some of my favorite patients to deal with, and I let them know that I’d love for them to bring the baby in for us to see (or at least pictures) – cuz we’ve played a vital role in their pregnancy (prenatal vitamin, meds for morning sickness, finding “baby safe” meds for the sniffles or seasonal allergies or mosquito bites).  And I hope that the young lady in this story becomes one of those patients too.

One comment on “Feelin’ like a hero!

  1. Tammy says:

    I’m glad the young lady made the right decision.

Comments are closed.