The Burn Out – my victory

(If you’re just tuning in, I suggest you read the previous 3 or 4 posts before reading this one – to get the whole story)

On the very last day of my very last rotation, my preceptor called us in one at a time to complete our final evaluation. When it was my turn, I sat down in the chair and we looked at each other across the desk and remembered silently how 12 months ago, we sat across a larger table when the decision was made that I would repeat a whole extra year of school.

It did not come as a surprise to me when he told me there was a notable difference in the levels in which I had grown.  I did not take it as I knew more now than I did before, even though continued experience results in knowing more.  Seeing someone in the middle of burn out and on the verge of a nervous breakdown, I was certainly different 12 months later.  The other notable difference was my confidence – moving from a prideful attitude, thinking “everything will work out”, to confidence in what I’ve learned, to a new level of trust in God and the calling and the dream He has given me. That’s the true victory!

I’ve noticed that it’s easy for people with higher educations to trust in their knowledge rather that having faith and trust in God. But through this experience, I’ve had to trust God with my dream, my marriage, my family, my money – almost every aspect of my life.  Yes, I had victory over my degree when I walked across the stage (twice) at graduation, but my true, lasting victory is the new level of trust and faith I have in my God.

So, that’s my story!  And here’s a bonus video for you…

