The Burn Out – my recovery

In June 2008, one week before graduation, the Committee called me in to make their decision.  Ken and I were driving down to Savannah, and I was rummaging through the backseat when I found the book “Failing Forward” by John Maxwell.  We both just started laughing because we knew that no matter what happened in the next couple days, success was on the horizon.

In September 2008, I moved back to Savannah to complete the requirements that the school had set.  This was my prescription for the next 10 months

“Failing Forward” by John Maxwell

“Getting Things Done” by David Allen (x 2)

Catalyst 2008 CD’s (x 2)

Ed Young and Joel Osteen almost every Sunday morning

Reconnecting with my ministry team at church.

And a bonus: The computer bag I used for the entire 10 months said “Be strong and courageous!” (Thank you ATF 2008)

While all of this kept me focused and in the victorious mindset.  The breakthrough really happened with the first book – “Failing Forward” by John Maxwell.

I didn’t start reading it the second I found it in the backseat.  I have a pet peeve about “self-help” type books – they usually have some “self-reflection” activities in them, and if someone is not ready for that level of “help”, then they’ll read it to say they read it, and never receive the benefit it offers.  So, I knew I was not mentally or emotionally ready to start “reflecting” what the book might be asking of me.  But, when I moved to Savannah, I was ready to conquer, so that’s when I started the book.  And I completed the activities and questions at the end of each chapter.  It was hard, I’m not going to lie, but it was bearable, and I was ready.

Through the book, I was able to accept my portion of responsibility for what happened to me, and I was able to forgive the others that held responsibility in it as well.  I was also able to stop blaming myself for things that really weren’t my fault.  And God’s amazing because not long after I finished this book, I had an unexpected encounter when the faculty memeber that gave me the failing grade back in June.  She commended me on my success and told me she was proud, and in that conversation, I searched hard for bitterness and cynicism towards her, and could find none!  And I had similar experiences with several of the members of the Committee with the same outcome.  Are we super friendly, no, but there is a shared respect.

I’ve always heard “time heals all wounds” but without a little effort and a change in your mindset, you’re very likely to end up wounded in the same way again.

Last one (I promise): Victory!

