Getting Things Done

Last summer, I read a book recommended to me by my husband called Getting Things Done by David Allen.  In this book, he gives you a 5-step process to organizing your space and your mind, and increasing your productivity 1000-fold and decreasing your stress by about the same.

Here’s a summary for you…

Step 1:  Collect – Gather everything that’s in the wrong place into one place

This process proves that sometimes you have to make a bigger mess before you can get it all clean.

Step 2:  Process – Dump it, Do it, or Defer it.

Decide later isn’t an option.

Step 3:  Organize – File folders and filing cabinets are your friend.

Don’t be afraid to have a whole folder for just one sheet of paper.

Step 4:  Review – As often as necessary

This keeps you from having to remember everything in your head (which is what got you stressed out in the first place)

Step 5:  Do – Ask yourself, what’s the next action?

By the time you get here, you will be able to know all the things you are NOT doing, and feel okay about NOT doing them.

I did this process last summer, and I just completed a second round.  In about 10 months, it’s easy for the diligence of this process to slip and I started storing things in my head again.  It’s amazing how much more stuff I can get done with very little energy expenditure because I don’t have to spend 15-20 minutes (or longer) figuring out what’s the best thing for me to do right now.  By the time I get done deciding, I’m exhausted and don’t do anything at all!

I recommend you check out the GTD website.  Explore this process and try it out for yourself!

Let me know how you like it!

