M*A*S*H

I get home between 4:30 and 5 pm most days of the week…I turn on the Hallmark channel and watch 4 episodes of MASH. Yeah, you heard me right – I watch MASH. I’ve seen almost all of the episodes – several of them more than once.
I haven’t quite decided what it is about MASH that makes it such a timeless classic.
It’s not their disdain for the US government and military. I know there were some seriously strong political beliefs behind this show, but I have been taught to honor the leaders in authority over me, even if I disagree with them, and I have the utmost respect for members, past and present, of all the branches of the military.
Maybe it’s the perfectly comedic ad-lib ability of all the actors involved. I’ve always wondered how much of what was actually said was scripted and how much they came up with on the fly. (Seems like they tried the same thing on Seinfeld, and in my opinion, that failed miserably).
Maybe, as a 25 year old medical professional, it gives me a glimpse of what “cutting edge” was 40 years ago and I get to see how far our medical knowledge has really advanced.
It amazes me how tickled I get at some of the things they do and say on this show.
Maybe that’s what I love about it – the randomness of it all!
I think my favorite episode is when an unexploded bomb ends up in the compound – they call the Army, they call the Navy, they call everyone they can think of, give them the serial number, and no one knows who it belongs to. So, finally they find out that it’s a CIA bomb (the CIA has it’s own bombs?) and get the directions of how to disarm it. Even though they’re surgeons, they cut the wrong cord and cause it to explode. Only it wasn’t a real bomb, it was a propaganda bomb with “the USA is our friend”-type fliers in it!

4 comments on “M*A*S*H

  1. pastorrobbiejones says:

    MASH is classic! When your mom and I were first married (she is a morning person and I am a night owl). I would stay up to watch two episodes, 11:00 PM – Midnight, every single night. That was almost 30 years ago. I never watched the show before they started showing the reruns late at night. You know it is a classic when a TV show is passed down from one generation to the next! Keep watching, they never get old, and maybe one day you will be able to share with your children the MASH Phenomenon.

  2. cynhendrix says:

    Yeah, y’all got a set of MASH trivia cards b/c you thought you had seen them all and would be pretty good at it. Come to find out, the questions were HARD and y’all really didn’t know all that much about it. I think that set of cards is still up in the closet somewhere!

  3. kenhendrix24 says:

    Has to strongly disagree about Seinfeld being a bomb… one of the longest and most well known sitcoms in tv history that was literally about “nothing”. Real life ab-lib is pretty impressive. I know you don’t care for it, but I could watch it for hours on end (but yeah I like mash too).

  4. pastorrobbiejones says:

    Laughing! You are so right. I thought I would be great at the card game, but come to find out we all stunk. Maybe we need to pull the cards back out and let’s see how we would do now. I am waiting for the NCIS card game now….it has taken the place of MASH.

Comments are closed.