You are what you eat

Today, I got to help teach a class for people newly diagnosed with diabetes. It’s interesting to see the despair that comes across people when they learn they have to change EVERYTHING they’re doing.
So, the first thing we talked about was diet (I heard someone today say, “oooh, that’s a 4-letter word!”). Patients with diabetes learn that carbohydrates in their diet turn into sugar in their bodies and that’s why the foods they eat are so important for controlling this disease. They learned that counting the amount of carbohydrates and limiting them can help control their sugar levels along with the medication they take and exercise (another cuss word, right?). It is important to note that this is a great technique for everyone, not just patients with diabetes. So, I’m going to share with you what I learned.
To maintain a steady sugar level in your body throughout the day, you should eat 3 meals and 3 snacks. A meal should consist of 2 servings of veggies (which give you 5 grams of carbs per serving), 3 oz of protein (think the size of a deck of cards – stacked up and still in the box), and 45 grams of carbs (~3 servings). A snack should consist of 1 oz of protein (1 tablespoon of peanut butter) and 15 grams of carbs (1 serving). Here’s a visual for what a good “carb counting” dinner plate should look like…
platemethod

So, then, tonight, we went to a drug dinner at a very nice restaurant called Sapphire Grill (the type of place that you need an interpreter for the English words on the menu). I had 4 credit card-sized slices of bread dipped in parmesan cheese and olive oil, a mixed greens salad with a vinaigrette dressing and a wedge of bread, a 6 oz pork loin with potatoes gratin and grilled asparagus, and a slice of chocolate torte with strawberry syrup and a chocolate-covered strawberry. (Most people around me had the same thing I did, plus 4 glasses of wine). How many carbs did we eat? Oh, I’d say about 150 grams… way too many! But it was sooo good!!
I’m just glad I wasn’t paying and I’m not starting my carb counting diet until tomorrow!

(P.S.  If you have any questions about anything relating to this subject, I will be glad to answer them from a professional standpoint.)

