Taming Ken – Part 3 – Ice Cream Bribes

When Ken and I first starting “talking” (you know, one of those in-between stages of “just friends” and “dating” that teenagers use to describe their relationships), I was working at the Emmanuel Student Activity Center (fondly called the SAC) during the summer.  Ken was taking a few summer classes and would come visit me in between classes.  Some days, Ken would come in with Jay or Moose (or both), other days, he’d come in by himself (as he got braver).  Even other days, I’d get visits from Moose and Jay by themselves and they would tell me how much Ken talks about me and likes me!

So, one day, Ken comes in and we’re chatting and laughing.  As it got time for him to leave, he stands up to give me a hug and says “see ya later, shorty!”  Just as with any early “talking” relationship, I got mad (sorta) and said “don’t call me short!” and pouted.  He left, I made rounds and came back to my office to read.  About 15 minutes later, Ken comes back in with a cup of chocolate ice cream from the Water Wheel!  Trying to remain mad at him, I made my best effort to act like I didn’t like chocolate ice cream – but I failed because chocolate is my FAVORITE ice cream!  Needless to say, I ate the ice cream and forgave him for calling me short.

Chocolate ice cream seems to be my weakness – and Ken has used it for his benefit more than once!

